Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Was your Facebook data shared?

87 million Facebook users are receiving notifications that a third party may have accessed their personal information. You could possibly have been sharing your profile with an unlimited number of people, if you have been using Facebook to link your apps.

Facebook has begun the lengthy process of notifying users if their personal data was shared with Cambridge Analytica, the company which worked with Donald Trump’s election team, using your personal information to try to influence voters.

Alan Crowetz, WPTV Internet Security Expert with Infostream.  was interviewed on Ch5 News and said that it wasn’t even hard for them. They make an app and ask Facebook to distribute it and allow access to some profiles and data, basically, they got what they asked for.

On Monday, Facebook’s CEO Mark Zuckerberg said that he is sorry and responsibility is his. Apparently, the social media giant knew back in 2015 that Cambridge Analytica used an app called ‘This is your digital life’. Users were invited to take a personality test and gave permission for the app to access their profiles and list of friends, and it was this information that the company used to influence voters.

He went on to say that you would be shocked how important it is and what can be done with data lie that. Using variables and information such as this, could dramatically the outcome of a campaign.

There is even more at risk he added. If you have Facebook linked to many apps, meaning if you are using Facebook to log onto a shopping app as an example, that information is also being made available and accessible to third parties.

Alan says he recommends having separate log on for every site, with a separate password and he considers this to be a turning point for Facebook who are now looking at all apps and are even suspending some for misusing information.

Alan also thinks Facebook could become the next MySpace, where everybody was using it, and then, literally overnight, no one was using it. Noticeably spreading on social is the movement #DeleteFacebook.

What should you do? First of all, go to your settings and then go the Apps and Websites tab on the left of your Facebook page. You will be able to see to which apps you authorize access and you can remove any you no longer want to receive your information. Plus, the next time you see a fun quiz, survey or a game you might like to use…..just beware.

Alan suggests being a little bit more cautious when a box pops up asking for permission to do something. He says that should set a little alarm bell ringing in your head.



This post first appeared on Blog - West Palm Beach | InfoStream, Inc, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Was your Facebook data shared?

×

Subscribe to Blog - West Palm Beach | Infostream, Inc

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription

×