Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Rosberg takes Formula One title from Hamilton

Nico Rosberg, the new world champion of the world
Germany’s Nico Rosberg won his first Formula One world championship on Sunday after finishing second in a tense Abu Dhabi Grand Prix won by Mercedes team mate Lewis Hamilton.

After all the suspense and expectation, the race saw Hamilton chalking up his 10th win of the season, and fourth in a row, but powerless to do anything about the championship outcome despite making every effort.

His attempt to push Rosberg into the clutches of those behind him, by deliberately slowing the pace in the closing laps to the concern of team bosses, produced a nail-biting finish with the top four separated by just 1.6 seconds.

Rosberg, who had needed only to finish in the top three to be sure of the title, held position to become his country’s third champion after Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel.

The son of 1982 title-winner Keke Rosberg is also only the second son of a world champion, after Britain’s Damon Hill, to take the crown.

Driver and Constructor Standings
Drivers Points
1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 385
2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 380
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 256
4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 212
5. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull 204
6. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 186
7. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 101
8. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 85
9. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 72
10. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 54
11. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 53
12. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso 46
13. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas 29
14. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso 25
15. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 21
16. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Renault 7
17. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber 2
18. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 1
19. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Manor 1
20. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1
21. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Haas 0
22. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber 0
23. Esteban Ocon (France) Manor 0
24. Rio Haryanto (Indonesia) Manor 0

Constructors Points
1. Mercedes – 765
2. Red Bull – TAG Heuer 468
3. Ferrari – 398
4. Force India – Mercedes 173
5. Williams-Mercedes 138
6. McLaren – 76
7. Toro Rosso – Ferrari 63
8. Haas – Ferrari 29
9. Renault – 8
10. Sauber – Ferrari 2
11. Manor – Mercedes 1

This post first appeared on Chrisblend, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Rosberg takes Formula One title from Hamilton


Subscribe to Chrisblend

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription