Do you want to delete Gmail Account and your address permanently from Gmail service? Gmail provides an opportunity for that through your account settings option. In this article, we are going to see how to delete your Gmail account and remove your mails and address permanently from Gmail.
Meanwhile, before you go ahead to delete Gmail account, it’s important to note that deleting your Gmail account is a serious decision to make and if you haven’t considered the consequences of deleting your account, I think you should have a rethink or go through the piece of information on what happens when you delete your Gmail account so that you will be properly guided.
SEE THIS: 10 Easy Steps To Create A Gmail Business Email
What Happens When You Delete Gmail Account
- Deleting your Gmail account will delete all your emails and close your inbox
- You can no longer access your Gmail account, even through any other third party app or email client
- Emails you sent to other people will still exist in their account, unless they too have deleted their email accounts
- Anybody who tries to email you at that address after you’ve deleted the account, will receive a message delivery failure
- If you downloaded a copy of your messages, you can still retrieve the messages and use them anytime.
So, it’s important you backup or download your messages on Gmail just before you hit the red button for deleting your account. See Gmail support center: How To Download Your Data
Now, you have seen what happens when you delete your Gmail account. Do you wish to proceed with the steps of deleting your account? Okay! Let’s get down to it below.
ALSO SEE: How To Delete Facebook Account
How To Delete Gmail Account – Start Here
Step 1: Head over to My Google Account page by tapping on the link here. Or copy and paste the URL, www.myaccount.google.com to your browser and go
Step 2: Under my “Account Preferences” section, select “Delete your account or services” from the options there to continue
Step 3: Then, tap on the “Delete Products” button. You can also choose “Delete Google Account and Data” to remove your entire Google account
Step 4: Next, select the Gmail account you wish to delete and continue
Step 5: Then, enter the Gmail account Password in the space provide there and tap on the “Next” button
NOTE: At this point if you have not downloaded a copy of your Gmail messages, you can follow the Download Data link to do that
DON’T MISS: Google Account Delete All Products & Services
Step 6: On the page that appears next, click on the “Trashcan” icon next to your Gmail account
Step 7: Then, enter your secondary email you used while creating your Gmail address or a new Gmail address. This email address will be needed to complete your account deletion and must be different from the one you’re deleting. Also, you must be able to access this email address at the moment of this deletion
Step 8: Next, click on the “Send Verification Email” to receive a link for the deletion to your secondary email address
Step 9: Open the email address and follow the link on the email sent to you from Google. And sign in to the Gmail account you are deleting if prompted
ALSO SEE: Steps to Delete Yahoo Mail Account Permanently From Android/Blackberry/iOS/Windows
Step 10: Next, tap on the “Yes, I want to delete” button on the screen that appears next to confirm the process
Step 11: Finally, tap on “Delete Gmail” and wait for a couple of minutes for your account to be removed, then, tap on “Done”. That’s all!
You have successfully deleted your Gmail account. You can go ahead and create a new one. If you prefer a secure email account, you can get one here too.
I hope this was helpful? Meanwhile, if you encounter any challenges deleting your Gmail account, let’s know using the box below and our team will get back to you within 24hours. Also help a friend by sharing this article with them using the social buttons below.
The post How To Delete Gmail Account – Permanently Remove Your Gmail Address appeared first on Welcome To VirginJist.