Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

India to host 2023 Cricket World Cup and 2021 Champions Trophy

In it's Special General Meeting (SGM), the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced that India is going to host the ICC Cricket World Cup in the year 2023 and the ICC Champions Trophy in the year 2021.

This is the first time India would be hosting an ODI World Cup on its own. Earlier, India has hosted the event along with Pakistan (in 1987), Sri Lanka (in 1996) and Bangladesh (in 2011). India has won the tournament twice (1983 and 2011) since its inception in 1975. India also became the first host nation to win the World Cup in 2011.

Other than the Champions Trophy and ODI World Cup, India will also be hosting Afghanistan for their first ever Test in 2019-2020 after they became full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in June 2017 along with Ireland.  

Note : India were handed the two tournaments' hosting rights in 2013, during the ICC Annual Conference.

Important Details about ICC Cricket World Cup

  • International championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC).
  • Current Champion : Australia
  • Most Successful Team : Australia (5)
  • Most Runs : Sachin Tendulkar (2,278)
  • Most Wickets : Glenn McGrath (71)
  • 1st Tournament (1975) :
    • Host : England
    • Won by : West Indies 
  • Recent Tournament (2015) :
    • Hosts : Australia, New Zealand
    • Won by : Australia
  • Next Tournament (2019) :
    • Hosts : England, Wales

Important Details about ICC Champions Trophy

  • One day international (ODI) cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC).
  • This is second in importance only to the Cricket World Cup.
  • Current Champion : Pakistan
  • Most Successful Teams : India (2), Australia (2)
  • Most Runs : Chris Gayle (791)
  • Most Wickets : Kyle Millis (28)
  • First Tournament (1998) :
    • Host : Bangladesh
    • Won by : South Africa
  • Recent Tournament (2017) :
    • Hosts : England, Wales
    • Won by : Pakistan
  • Next Tournament (2021)
    • Host : India
sponsored links

This post first appeared on Gr8AmbitionZ, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

India to host 2023 Cricket World Cup and 2021 Champions Trophy


Subscribe to Gr8ambitionz

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription