Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

16 Years of Parliament Attack – India Salutes Its Martyrs

It was on 13 December 2001, when five terrorists infiltrated the Parliament House in a car with Home Ministry and Parliament labels. It was an attack by Islamic terrorist groups Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) Muslim. The attack shocked the nation as it was an attack on the symbol of Indian Democracy led to the deaths of five terrorists, six Delhi Police personnel, two Parliament Security Service personnel and a gardener, in total 14 and to increased tensions between India and Pakistan.

It was one of the saddest days in the Indian history. On its 16th anniversary today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, along with other senior lawmakers this morning paid tribute to the Martyrs of the attack.

Earlier, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman had tweeted,

“On this day in 2001, our brave soldiers and Parliament staff repulsed the attack on our Parliament House. Respects to our martyrs. The nation shall remember with pride their sacrifice.”

The mastermind of the attack was Mohammad Afzal Guru. He was a Kashmiri separatist. He got arrested and received a death sentence for his involvement, which was upheld by the Indian Supreme Court. Following the rejection of a mercy petition by the President of India, he was executed on 9 February 2013. His body was buried within the precincts of Delhi’s Tihar Jail.

Copyrights 2017 PagalParrot

This post first appeared on PagalParrot, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

16 Years of Parliament Attack – India Salutes Its Martyrs


Subscribe to Pagalparrot

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription