Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

The 12 Storey Temple of Rishikesh

Site Name: Bara Manzil Temple
Site Type: Hindu Temple
Location:  Rishikesh, Uttarakhand state, India
Highlights: 12 storey temple
Nearest Railway Station: Haridwar
Nearest Airport: Dehradun - 35 kms from Haridwar
How to reach: Well connected by road 
Hotel: A lot of options including low cost and free accommodation such as ashrams
Restaurants: Varieties of options - but only vegetarian

Rishikesh is a religious town located near Haridwar on the banks of the beautiful Ganges river in Uttarakhand state of India. The town is an ancient city and has so many travel attractions such as rafting, hiking, heritage tour, temples, river, etc. Let us explore an important temple which has 12 floors.

This temple is called as Bara Manzil Temple. It is situated near the famous landmark of Rishikesh, Lakshman Jhula. Each floor has a lot of shrines where various idols are enshrined. Name any Hindu deity and you would definitely find that deity in this temple.

Let me provide the details of all the deities that are found in each floor. (I am sure you can't find this in any other site. :-))

Ground Floor

Main shrine
  • Neelakanth Shiva
Sub-shrines and other deities:
  • Shambavi Seated on cow
  • Brahmini with four heads
  • Megh Mata Seated on lotus
  • Pranajani and Kundalini Mata
  • Narasimha seated on Sesha
  • Lakshmi
  • Akantha Deep
  • Dharmaraj
  • Yama seated on buffalo
  • Saraswati holding Veena
  • Ganga, Yamuna and Saraswati - Rivers - each one of them has four arms and found in the standing posture
  • Krishna, Radha and Balram
  • Ram, Sita, Lakshman and Hanuman
  • Shiva, Parvati and Ganesha in the standing posture
  • Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva
  • Garud
First Floor

Shrines and deities:
  • Katyayini seated on a lion
  • Yamuna
  • Skanda Mata seated on lion holding six headed Skanda on her lap
  • Valmiki and Gorakshanath
  • Sidhikatri holding conch and discus
  • Sugreev
  • Bhuvan Mata
  • Chandrakantha Mata with eight arms
  • Bhavani
  • Uma Hemavati
  • Kushmanda Mata
  • Kabir Das and Sai Baba
  • Kalratri black colored idol - seated on donkey
  • Chakradari - Krishna holding discus
  • Khodiyar Mata
  • Brahmacharini holding kamandala
  • Brahmini
  • Maitri
  • Maha Gauri seated on Nandi
  • Parmba Mata
  • Shailaputri Mata seated on Nandi
  • Bhoomiya Mata with six arms and seated on Nandi
  • Bhairagi Mata seated on Nandi
  • Bhakta Hanuman
  • Gopal and Ramdev

Second Floor

Shrines and deities:
  • Brahma
  • Lakshmi Narayan
  • Saraswati and Gayatri
  • Panel depicting the marriage of Ram and his three brothers with the daughters of Janak
  • Bhairav with eight arms; the idol is white in color
  • Balaji
  • Kali
  • Santoshi Mata
  • Sheetala Mata
  • Parvati
  • Gangeshwar Mahadev Shiva Linga
  • Mamaleshwar Mahadev Shiva Linga
  • Valmiki, Luv, Kush
  • Panchamukhi Gayatri
  • Panchamukhi Shiva with ten arms and five heads; crocodile is found at his feet
  • Naina Devi
  • Chintapoorani
  • Jwala Devi
  • Shiva, Skanda and Narad
  • Shiva Linga
Third Floor

Shrines and deities:
  • Shiva Linga and Nandi
  • Vishnu with four heads
  • Baglamukhi
  • Lakshmi
  • Kshetrapal with six arms
  • Tripura Mataji with three heads
  • Vishwa Mataji
  • Veerabhadra
  • Bhuvaneswari
  • Aadhya Shakti Mataji
  • Shiva Linga with Markandeya
  • Vaishnavi Mata
  • Sureshwari Devi
  • Kapalini Devi
  • Savakshi Devi
  • Kshma Devi
  • Mahisasur mardini
  • Indra
  • Garud; above his Govidji

Fourth Floor

Shrines and deities:
  • A panel depicting the birth of Draupadi
  • Shiva Ling and Ardhanareeswara
  • Pasupati - Shiva Linga with five heads
Fifth Floor

Shrines and deities:
  • Shiva
Sixth Floor

Shrines and deities:
  • Ambikeshwar Mahadev (Shiva Linga)
Seventh Floor

Shrines and deities:
  • Panel depicting Ganga Avataran
  • Shiva Linga
Eighth Floor

  • Mallikarjun Mahadev - bigger Shiva Linga idol
Ninth Floor

  • Gushneswar Mahadev - Shiv Linga

Tenth Floor

  • Trayambakeshwar Mahadev

Happy travelling.

This post first appeared on Indian Columbus, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

The 12 Storey Temple of Rishikesh


Subscribe to Indian Columbus

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription