Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Slovenian Space Academy / 30.9. - 4.10. 2015


30. 9. - 4. 10. 2015
KSEVT Vitanje


From 30 September to 4 October 2015, at KSEVT Vitanje, there will be an ongoing exhibition entitled The Slovenian Space Academy, where projects from the last five years of collaboration between Slovenian organisations and The European Space Agency (ESA) will be presented. You will be able to see satellites, satellite communication devices, user applications and a view into deep space.

A NOTE: On Friday, 2 October 2015, at 20.00 (CET+1) there will be a premiere of Vitanje in Space: Sunita (see previous post).

In year 2015, The Republic of Slovenia's status of an European Cooperating State at ESA comes to an end. At the same time, we are starting to prepare ourselves to begin the process of gaining a full membership in ESA. Denoting this milestone opportunity, KSEVT set up a comprehensive exhibition covering the results of this very cooperation.

Organisations presenting their projects:

Center odličnosti Vesolje.SI
Jožef Stefan Institute
University of Ljubljana
University of Maribor
University of Nova Gorica

ESA is the European door to space. It has a mission to design the development of European space facilities and to make sure space investments correspond with European and global needs. As an international organisation it integrates 22 member states. With a joint coordination of financial and intellectual resources it may accomplish programme activities no single member state could when working on its own.

After 50 years of gradual integration ESA is comprised of Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Hungary, Netherlands, Germany, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and United Kingdom. As European Cooperating States it includes also Bulgaria, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia. Following the agreement on cooperation, even Canada cooperates with ESA in certain projects.

ESA has got eight central institutions in different countries, covering various programme compounds:

Headquarters, Paris, France
EAC, European Astronauts Centre, Cologne, Germany
ESAC, European Space Astronomy Centre, Villanueva de la Canada, Madrid, Spain
ESOC, European Space Operations Centre, Darmstadt, Germany
ESRIN, ESA Centre for Earth Observation, Frascati, Italy
ESTEC, European Space Research and Technology Centre, Noordwijk, Netherlands
ECSAT, European Centre for Space Applications and Telecommunications, Harwell, UK
ESA Redu Centre, Belgium

EXHIBITION | SLOVENIAN SPACE ACADEMY | 30. 9. – 4. 10. 2015 | Author: Miha Turšič  | Organisation: Cultural Centre of European Space Technologies (KSEVT), Ministry of Economic Development and Technology of The Republic of Slovenia (MGRT), European Space Agency (ESA) | Set up by: Display, Emil Kričej, Milan Pogorevc | Supported by: The Municipality of Vitanje | Sponsored by: Zlati grič d.o.o., ILLY Slovenija Espresso d.o.o., Terme Zreče, Kmetija Brečko

This post first appeared on Noordung Orbit, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Slovenian Space Academy / 30.9. - 4.10. 2015


Subscribe to Noordung Orbit

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription