Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

State Federation Cup Recap: MFM Rule Lagos, Kanu's Papilo FC Shocks Heartland

Papilo FC, the pet club of Nigeria legend Nwankwo Kanu upset Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) side Heartland to emerge winners of the Imo State Federation Cup 2016 today.

However, another Nigeria premier league club MFM FC won their first-ever Lagos State Federation Cup when they thrashed NNL side Bridge FC 3-0 at the Agege Stadium.

The church club sealed victory within 10 minutes as Sikiru Olatunbosun opened the scoring in the 41st minute, he completed a brace in the 48th minute, before mercurial midfielder Emmanuel Onuwa scored the third goal in the 50th minute.

Nigeria National League side Crown FC dethroned Shooting Stars as the Oyo State Federation Cup winners after a 2-1 win in today’s final at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba in Ibadan.
Peter Michael opened the scoring in the 20th minute to give Crown a 1-0 lead, before Najeem Olukokun leveled terms in the 43rd minute.

Peter Michael sealed the victory with his second goal of the day, when he capitalised on a defensive blunder.

In Kwara State, Kwara United beat ABS FC 5-2 via penalty after the game ended 1-1 at regulation.

In Osun State, NNL side Prime FC beat non-league side Fehinty FC 2-1.

Sunshine Stars retained the Ondo State Federation Cup in Akure with a 2-1 win over Akure City FC.

State Federation Cup finalists will represent their states in the national Federation Cup.

Akwa United won last year’s cup competition to qualify for the 2016 CAF Confederation Cup.

Some FA Cup Final Results
  • Rivers: Rivers United 1-1 Go Round (AP 2-4)
  • Taraba: Gashaka FC 2-3 Diamond Academy
  • Anambra: FC Ifeanyi Ubah 2-0 Chisco FC
  • Kwara: Kwara United 5-2 ABS
  • Kogi: Kogi United 1-0 FC Lokoja
  • Ondo: Sunshine Stars 1-0 Akure City
  • Nasarawa: Nasarawa United 0-0 Akwanga (AP 3-0)
  • Lagos: MFM FC 4-0 Bridge FC
  • Kano: Kano Pillars 5-1 Samba FC
  • Imo: Heartland FC 0-1 Papilo FC
  • Borno: Elkanemi Warriors 0-0 Elkanemi Babes (AP 3-2)
  • Edo: Ineh Stars 3-0 Dynamites Force
  • Oyo: Shooting Stars 1-2 Crown FC
  • Kaduna: Kaduna United 2-0 Zaria Strikers FC
  • Sokoto: Sokoto United Vs Falbir Academy
  • Osun: Prime FC 2-1 Fehinty FC
  • Niger: Niger Tornadoes 1-0 Niger Tornadoes Feeders
  • Bauchi: Wikki Tourists 2-1 Wikki Tourists Feeders
  • Enugu: Enugu Rangers 5-1 Disdevet
  • Plateau: Plateau United 0-1 Giwa FC
  • GOMBE: Yarmalight 1-0 Flash Flamingoes
  • Katsina: Katsina United 2-0 Katsina Juniors

Follow @wolexis

This post first appeared on Wolexis Sports Blog | Nigeria's Online Sports Mag, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

State Federation Cup Recap: MFM Rule Lagos, Kanu's Papilo FC Shocks Heartland


Subscribe to Wolexis Sports Blog | Nigeria's Online Sports Mag

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription