Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>


The inaugural World Twenty20 tournament which had been devised by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2007 in South Africa. India had won the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup under the captaincy of M.S Dhoni.

In Durban, India and Pakistan played out a tie, and were involved in the first ever international bowl out, which is the equivalent of a soccer penalty shooting out, which India won 3-0. 

Winning the toss and deciding to bat, India scrapped their way to a 157-7 on a pitch where 180 was possible.  The final match went into the last over Pakistan needing 13 runs to win in the final over, with only 1 wicket remaining. Joginder Sharma bowled the last over he hit a six by Misbah then Pakistan needed just 6 runs to win from the last 4 balls. Misbah attempted to hit the next ball with over fine leg,but he only managed the ball to go within 30 yards from the pitch,and it was caught at short-fine leg by Sreesanth, leaving Pakistan all out for 152 runs.

The Indian Team played so well  throughout the World Cup, and finally they made the World Cup which they deserved. The highlight of this World Cup is that Yuvraj Singh, had hit six sixes in an over, which Stuart Broad had bowled.

This post first appeared on Indian Cricket Team, please read the originial post: here

Share the post



Subscribe to Indian Cricket Team

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription