Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

2018 AFLX: Squads & In Game Discussions

AFLX squads announced for Thursday night games
Herald Sun
27 minutes ago

GEELONG forward Tom Hawkins and Port Adelaide star Robbie Gray headline the first AFLX squads named.
But some clubs are playing it safe with their biggest names, instead going for youth in the seven-a-side exhibition matches.
Geelong won’t risk any of their superstar trio — Gary Ablett, Patrick Dangerfield or Joel Selwood — as clubs took a conservative approach in what will be their first competitive hit-out against opposition clubs.
Adelaide and West Coast, in particular, have named squads heavy on youngsters.
Brownlow medallist Nat Fyfe was initially selected in Fremantle’s squad but was later pulled out.
“We reviewed Nat’s training data after yesterday’s training session and it was decided to manage his workload ahead of him playing in round one of the JLT Series,” general manger of football operations Chris Bond said on Tuesday morning.
The Cats surprised by picking Tom Hawkins. Picture: Alison Wynd
But fans will get a good glimpse at their future in Thursday night’s opening pool matches, with plenty of fresh faces likely to excite, including the Dockers’ No.2 draft pick Andrew Brayshaw.
Collingwood, which hasn’t named skipper Scott Pendlebury, will unveil top draft pick Jaidyn Stephenson, while Freo’s Andrew Brayshaw has also been named for the Dockers.
Stephensen, taken with pick six in last year’s national draft, was named in the Magpies’ 14-man squad for their round robin competition against the Crows and West Coast on Thursday night at Adelaide’s Hindmarsh Stadium.
Steele Sidebottom will captain the Magpies.
The Crows named Harry Dear, son of premiership ruckman Paul. Dear, 21, is in his fourth year at the club and is looking to break into the team’s strong forward line.
The Power also picked high-profile recruit Jack Watts and his ex-Melbourne teammate Jack Trengove.

Clubs can select up to 20 players in their squad.
The six clubs have been divided into two groups.
Each club playing two 20-minute games and the winners of each pool playing off in a grand final.
The AFLX series moves to Melbourne on Friday night and Sydney on Saturday night.

Jordan Gallucci
Jake Kelly
Curtly Hampton
Jackson Edwards
Andy Otten
Kyle Cheney
Cam Ellis-Yolmen
Patrick Wilson
Elliott Himmelberg
Matthew Signorello
Paul Hunter
Harry Dear
Tom Doedee
Ben Davis
Alex Keath
Reilly O’Brien
Lachie Murphy
Ben Jarman

Jarryd Blair
James Aish
Tom Phillips
Steele Sidebottom
Josh Thomas
Jack Crisp
Nathan Murphy
Tim Broomhead
Will Hoskin-Elliott
Jaidyn Stephenson
Brayden Maynard
Ben Crocker
Josh Smith
Jack Madgen

Griffin Logue
Brandon Matera
Danyle Pearce
Tom North
Andrew Brayshaw
Bradley Hill
Michael Walters
Tommy Sheridan
Mitchell Crowden
Darcy Tucker
Connor Blakely
Cameron McCarthy
Ed Langdon
Brady Grey
Cameron Sutcliffe
Brennan Cox
Luke Ryan
Bailey Banfield
Stefan Giro
Taylin Duman

Brandan Parfitt
Daniel Menzel
Tim Kelly
Wylie Buzza
Lachie Fogarty
Jordan Murdoch
Mitch Duncan
Aaron Black
Jed Bews
Tom Hawkins
Sam Menegola
Jordan Cunico
Gryan Miers
James Parsons
Zach Guthrie
Jackson Thurlow
Tom Stewart
Mark Blicavs

Robbie Gray
Trent Mckenzie
Todd Marshall
Karl Amon
Tom Clurey
Jimmy Toumpas
Jack Trengove
Jack Watts
Kane Farrell
Riley Bonner
Joel Garner
Jasper Pittard
Dougal Howard
Jake Patmore
Jarrod Lienert
Dom Barry
Dan Houston
Cameron Hewett
Sam Gray

Jarrod Brander
Liam Duggan (c)
Daniel Venables
Jack Petruccelle
Hamish Brayshaw
Francis Watson
Tom Cole
Jackson Nelson
Ryan Burrows
Brayden Ainsworth
Josh Rotham
Malcolm Karpany
Matt Allen
Willie Rioli
Jake Waterman

Hindmarsh Stadium, Thursday, February 15
POOL A: Fremantle, Geelong, Port Adelaide
POOL B: Adelaide, Collingwood, West Coast

Etihad Stadium, Friday, February 16
POOL A: Carlton, Melbourne, North Melbourne
POOL B: Essendon, Hawthorn, St Kilda

Allianz Stadium, Saturday, February 17
POOL A: Brisbane, GWS Giants, Richmond
POOL B: Gold Coast, Sydney, Western Bulldogs

Field: Rectangular playing pitch 100-120m long and 60-70m wide with 40m arcs at either end and goalposts.
Teams consist of 10 players, with seven on the field, three interchange and unlimited rotations.
— 2 x 10-minute halves with no time on
— Last touch out of bounds free kick
— 25m penalties, not 50m
— Backwards kicks are play on, except in forward 40m
— 10 points for goals kicked from outside 40m
— Kick-ins after every score

— Six clubs at each round-robin “tournament” divided into two groups
— Teams play two games in group stage
— Winners of each group play off in grand final

This post first appeared on SuperCoach Scores, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

2018 AFLX: Squads & In Game Discussions


Subscribe to Supercoach Scores

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription