Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

2017: What a Waite! Round 8 VC and C discussion

Last week’s Top 5
Jarrad Waite – 190
Lance Franklin – 160
Tom Rockliff – 148
Lachie Neale – 147
Zak Jones – 143

What a Waite!!

After a 62 year Waite, a lifetime for many of their loyal fans, the Bulldogs broke through for their second Premiership last year. 2016 would prove to be a year that many long Championship/Title Waites were finally broken. In the NRL the Cronulla Sharks won their first ever premiership since joining the competition in 1967, a mere 49 year waite for glory.

America saw a massive streak broken with the Chicago Cubs winning the World Series (MLB – Baseball), an astonishing 108 year waite since their 1908 victory, quite incredible for such a well known Club.

Leicester City produced perhaps one of the most unlikely stories of the year, winning the Premier League. The Premier League commenced in 1992, 47 different Clubs have competed in it during that time however Leicester Coty were only the 6th Club to obtain the title. The Club was founded in 1884, the founders would only have to waite 132 to see them win the Premier League Title, even though the competition didn’t exist then! Although to be fair they have won 7 second division Championships in their time.

Perhaps the waite we will all be glad to see finally broken is the one that occurs in 2018, when after 13 years of competition Philzsay finally breaks through to win Supercoach! Awesome!! Quite a remarkable victory too after having finished 129,742,388th the year before!

So now for some local footy droughts that were broken in 2016:

Watsonia in Div 3 of the Northern Football League ended a 29 year waite to collect the silverware, not bad for a Club that apparently nearly folded a few years prior.

Ferntree Gully also ended a 29 year waite to take home the Div 4 Championship of the Eastern Football League. Hearts must have been pumping as they won the Grand Final by just one goal.

Healesville for its first division Flag in 28 years in the Yarra Valley Mountain District Football League. OK they may have won the Div 2 three years prior, but it was a long waite between success at the top level!

Diggers Rest, what a story in the Riddell Footbal League! 23 years since their last Flag, the Burras came into the season having lost the previous 3 Grand Finals. In this year’s grand Final they were behind in the last quarter, but fought back hard late to level the scores in the last minute before the siren. Extra Time ensure and Jason Williams was the hero with a goal in the second half of extra time to earn them ultimate glory. Oh Jason, you are the King of Diggers Rest!!

Meanwhile Hastings ended a 21 year waite to win the Neapeon Football League and Mount Waverley ended an 18 year waite in the Southern Football League.

However, the breaking of the drought closest to my heart is the mighty Bacchus Marsh in the Ballarat league. It had been a long 42 year waite since glory, in fact it had been 15 years since they last played in finals, however the might Cobras smashed Sunbury in the Grand Final to the delight of former Bacchus Marsh residents footballers Doug Hawking, Harry Soapy Vallance, Nick Suban, the late former Victorian Premier Nick Hogan, Dancing with the Stars judge Helen Richey and SC literacy great Philzsay.

Now there are probably also some long Premiership waites that also ended around this great country of ours, however that would involve far too much research, so apologies but those Clubs, if they are wanting some recognition from SCS they are simply going to have to waite….

Round 8 Fixture:
Attached Images

This post first appeared on SuperCoach Scores, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

2017: What a Waite! Round 8 VC and C discussion


Subscribe to Supercoach Scores

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription