Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Road To The 2017 NCAA Softball National Championship

This year’s NCAA Division 1 Softball Championship is the 36th annual and will be the 27th time that Oklahoma City and USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium – OGE Energy Field has hosted the event.

There is currently 291 Division 1 Softball teams in the country of that number 64 get a chance to play in the tournament that leads up to crowning a national champion. Out of those 64 teams, 32 receive an automatic qualification (winning their conference) with the remaining best 32 teams selected on an at-large basis by the Division 1 Softball Committee.

From there the top 16 seeded teams will get to host a regional site. All of this will be announced on Sunday May 14th on ESPNU at 10pm.

Once all of the selections and seeding are done then the action gets started with what are called, ‘The Regionals.’
They will take place between May 19-21, 2017. The games will be played on the 16 host teams fields using a four-team, double-elimination tournament format.

The 16 winning teams from The Regionals then advance to the next round known as, ‘Super Regionals.’ This year the
Super Regionals will be held from May 25-28, 2017 on eight campus sites. At each of those sites two teams will play
a best-of-three games tournament format with the winners of the series advancing to to the, NCAA Women’s College World Series (WCWS).

The Women’s College World Series will be played from June 1-7, 2017. The eight teams who make it there will compete in a double elimination bracket with the final two teams then competing in a best of three format to crown a
national champion.

This post first appeared on College Softball News, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Road To The 2017 NCAA Softball National Championship


Subscribe to College Softball News

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription