Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Singapore Slammers is your 2016 IPTL Champion! #Repeat

Slammers retain the IPTL crown

Singapore Slammers is your 2016 IPTL Champion! #Repeat

Hyderabad, December 11th 2016


After an 10-day 3-nation tour, the Coca-Cola International Premier Tennis League (IPTL) 2016
culminated in an exciting grand finale with an epic showdown between the two table-shoppers,
here at the Gachibowli Indoor Stadium in the historic city of Hyderabad.

The OUE Singapore Slammers retained the IPTL title in a rematch of last’s years final although this
time was played in the Aces home ground. A stunning 30-14 and a marvelous display for each
player of the Singapore side.

“We are waiting for the final”, said the Slammers coach Purav Raja. And he didn’t lie. The Indian
professional tennis player was aware of the comfortable Head-to-head that the Aces have had in
this 2016 edition: a 3-0 in matches, with narrow, tight and strong wins. But he also knew that this
previous results could go in their favor.

As for the match, there is absolutely no doubt that Carlos Moyà could still play on tour. The
former world number one, now retired, was once again in spectacular form. With an outstanding
seven wins in a row, the Spaniard started things off precisely the way that coach Raja wanted.
Beating Mark Philippoussis and also setting a very high standard for his team.

Kiki Bertens continued with her sensational powerful game and the Dutch-woman not only beat
Kirsten Flipkens. She also defeated the Belgian’s substitute, the queen of Hyderabad herself,
Sania Mirza. The Indian tennis star played her first singles game of the year and was close to
upset Bertens, who was extremely relieved once the set was over.

In the Mixed doubles set, Marcelo Melo came with great confidence and, alongside Bertens,
neutralized the power of the Indian duo Mirza/Bopanna. Everything looked on the Slammers
bright side. Two more sets and the title would be renewed.

Nick Kyrgios joined Melo and both took over Feliciano López and Ivan Dodig. All their sets have
been spectacular this season and the final one was not an exception. After four sets, the four
were on the Slammers side. It all came down to Marcos Baghdatis who sealed the final victory
with a great win over Feliciano López.

Raja was right. His team delivered when it mattered. For a second straight year, the OUE
Singapore Slammers are the IPTL champions.

This post first appeared on Powcast Sports, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Singapore Slammers is your 2016 IPTL Champion! #Repeat


Subscribe to Powcast Sports

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription