Footballers are notoriously known for diving at the slightest touch from a defender, but what happens when the defender beats you to the dive?
Screaming in to stop the breakaway, he trips and falls face-first in front of the attacker, taking him out and putting the ball out for a throw-in. There was no foul called, but should there have been?
Law 12.1 reads “A direct free kick is awarded if a player commits any of the following offences against an opponent in a manner considered by the referee to be careless, reckless or using excessive force:
trips or attempts to trip”
This play is unique because it involves two trips. The red-shirt player comes screaming in from the side to slide tackle the guy in blue, but trips himself when lining up for it. Blue-shirt then goes for a tumble after being unable to avoid old his opponent lying on the ground.
The only excessive force we can see involved in this trip is the force applied to red-shirt’s face as he eats dirt.
FIFA has been kind enough to provide a list of criteria for refs to consider when looking at a challenge like this. These include judging the intent of the challenger, looking for aggression and looking at the speed and angle of approach.
The intent of the challenger was to get the ball, the bad challenge only happened because he tripped himself. There doesn’t seem to be any aggression present in the challenge.
If you watch closely you can see red-shirt also abides by the age-old rule of “I got the ball ref!” He collects both the player and the ball in one go making him immune to any foul call that might have come his way.
We have all called a ref out on a challenge that we thought was worse than they did, but this might be the one you couldn’t challenge. After all, you can’t talk if you’re doubled over laughing.
What are your thoughts on this? Let us know in the comments below.
Article link: KNOW YOUR LAWS: Is a belly-flop a legal challenge?. Written by Club Roar, on The Roar - Your Sports Opinion.
from The Roar https://ift.tt/2P10CU2