Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

The WebConf 2018 (WWW18): Alternate track on Journalism, Misinformation, and Fact Checking

Lyon, France April 23-27, 2018

Misinformation has been spreading on the Web since its inception as an hyperconnected searchable medium, but recent developments, both in technology, the information ecosystem, and society at large, have made it more prominent, calling for more investigation on the topic. As "fake news" (false or inaccurate articles fabricated for deceptive and financial purposes and presented as news reports), computational propaganda, astroturf, and ideological polarization become more common on the Web and the social Web, a cross-cutting and interdisciplinary approach is needed.

This track welcomes two types of contributions: a) research papers, b) perspective pieces. Contributions should explore the range of computational, social, cognitive, economic, and communication topics related to the above phenomena. Specifically, the track will examine
recent computational approaches for detecting misinformation and propaganda on the Web and social media, as well as proposals to improve fact checking, critical thinking, information and media
literacy, crowdsourcing, and societal decision-making processes. Contributions introducing new benchmark data sets or methods are especially welcome.

Accepted papers will be published in the official satellite proceedings.

                           Special issue

A selection of the best contributions will be invited to be submitted, after proper revision and extension, for consideration for the upcoming special issue on "Combating Digital Misinformation and Disinformation" (
of the ACM Journal of Data and Information Quality (

                    Misinformation Track Chairs

* Giovanni Luca Ciampaglia (Indiana University Network Science  Institute)
* Kristina Lerman (USC-Information Sciences Institute)
* Panagiotis Takis Metaxas (Wellesley College)

Contact: misinfochairs (at)

                        Submission guideline

Submissions should follow the guideline information ( on the general Web Conference. In addition, they should obey the following guidelines:

                             Page limit
Submissions should be formatted to not exceed eight pages. The page limit includes any diagrams or appendices but does not include references that have no page limit. No author identification: PDF
files must be ready for double-blind review, that is, the submitted document should not include author information and should not include citations or discussion of related work that would make the authorship apparent.

Submissions must represent new and original work. Concurrent submissions are not allowed. Papers that have been published in or accepted to any peer-reviewed journal or conference/workshop with
published proceedings, are currently under review or will be submitted to other meetings or publications while under review in this conference may not be submitted. However, submissions that are available online and/or have been previously presented orally or as posters in venues with no formal proceedings, are allowed. Note that if they are available online (e.g., via arXiv) and not anonymous, authors should make an effort to preserve anonymity, e.g., by making the title and abstract of the conference submission sufficiently different from one available online, and so limit the risk that a direct search will reveal their identity.

                         Proper attribution
Additionally, the ACM has a strict policy against plagiarism and self-plagiarism ( All prior work must be appropriately cited.

                         Submission website (opens Dec 06)

                          Important dates

* Full papers submission form open: 06 December 2017
* Full papers submission deadline: 05 January 2018
* Papers acceptance notification: 14 February 2018
* Papers final version due: 25 February 2018

All submission deadlines are at 9:00pm HAST.

                       Rights and Permissions

See copyright note on main CFP page:

                         Program Committee

* Harith Alani (Knowledge Media Institute, The Open University)
* Jisun An (Qatar Computing Research Institute, Hamad Bin Khalifa  University)
* Joshua Benton (Nieman Lab, Harvard University)
* Guido Caldarelli (Institute for Complex System, Italian National  Research Council)
* Carlos Castillo (Eurecat - Technology Centre of Catalonia)
* James Caverlee (Texas A&M University)
* Meeyoung Cha (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology /  Facebook, Inc.)
* Robin Cohen (University of Waterloo)
* Nicholas Diakopoulos (University of Maryland)
* Lucia Falzon (Defence Science and Technology Group)
* Emilio Ferrara (Information Sciences Institute, University of  Southern California)
* Aram Galstyan (Information Sciences Institute, University of  Southern California)
* Kelly Garrett (Ohio State University)
* Amira Ghenai (University of Waterloo)
* Yevgeniy Golovchenko (University of Copenhagen)
* Nir Grinberg (Northeastern University / Harvard University)
* Noriko Hara (Indiana University)
* Naeemul Hassan (University of Mississippi)
* Jim Hendler (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
* Jeff Jarvis (Tow-Knight Center, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism)
* Prakruthi Karuna (George Mason University)
* Brian Keegan (University of Colorado Boulder)
* Johannes Kiesel (Bauhaus-Universitat Weimar)
* Hemank Lamba (Carnegie Mellon University)
* Gerry Lanosga (Indiana University)
* Dongwon Lee (Penn State University)
* Xiao Ma (Cornell Tech)
* Alexios Mantzarlis (International Fact-Checking Network, Poynter  Institute)
* Winter Mason (Facebook, Inc.)
* Gregory Maus (Indiana University)
* Miriam Metzger (University of California Santa Barbara)
* An Mina (Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society, Harvard  University)
* Tanushree Mitra (Georgia Institute of Technology)
* Elaheh Momeni (University of Vienna)
* Fred Morstatter (Information Sciences Institute, University of  Southern California)
* Eni Mustafaraj (Wellesley College)
* Christine Ogan (Indiana University)
* John Paolillo (Indiana University)
* David Rothschild (Microsoft Research)
* Giancarlo Ruffo (University of Turin)
* Kazutoshi Sasahara (Nagoya University)
* Nishanth Sastry (King's College London)
* Craig Silverman (Buzzfeed)
* Emmanuel Vincent (Climate Feedback)
* Tim Weninger (University of Notre Dame)
* Christo Wilson (Northeastern University)
* Jun Yang (Duke University)
* Cong Yu (Google Research)
* Amy Zhang (Massachussets Institute of Technology)

This post first appeared on Beamtenherrschaft, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

The WebConf 2018 (WWW18): Alternate track on Journalism, Misinformation, and Fact Checking


Subscribe to Beamtenherrschaft

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription