Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

List of UK Wealth Management companies that are not secure by default

This is one of several posts of the topic of security of websites. Inspired by my initial post on the security of UK banks.

The reason for splitting this data into multiple posts is to make it more manageable. So that data on one institution is not mixed with

data on another type of institution.

The following key is used for the secure status:

Yes The site is secure, loaded via https
Invalid The site loads via https, but the security certificate is invalid and thus the site is
insecure.
Partial The site loads via https, but loads some parts of the page without https. The site is
insecure.
No The site is loaded via http, not via https.
Fixed The site is loaded via https, but at the time of first writing it was loaded via
http.
?? We could not find a website to evaluate.

We tested 52 wealth Management companies. We found 16 wealth management companies that did not have a secure home page (not https or did have https with an invalid security certificate). That is 31% of UK wealth management companies have security vulnerabilities

Wealth Management Company Secure Home Page
Aberdeen Asset Management No http://www.aberdeen-asset.co.uk/
Aberdeen Asset Management Trust Centre No http://www.invtrusts.co.uk/investmenttrusts/
Artemis Investment Management LLP Yes https://www.artemisfunds.com/
Blackrock Yes https://www.blackrock.com
Brewin Dolphin Yes https://www.brewin.co.uk/
Cantab Asset Management Yes https://www.cantabam.com/
Capital Yes https://www.capital.co.uk/
CBRE Global Investors No http://www.cbreglobalinvestors.com/Pages/default.aspx
CCLA Yes https://www.ccla.co.uk/
Charles Stanley Yes https://www.charles-stanley.co.uk/
Citi Yes https://www.citibank.co.uk/personal/wealth-management-products.do
City Asset Management Plc No http://www.city-asset.co.uk/
Clifton asset management Yes https://www.clifton-asset.co.uk/
Close Brothers Asset Management Yes https://www.closebrothersam.com/
EFG Yes https://www.efgam.com/home/Landing-Asset-Management.html
Equester Capital Management Yes https://www.neptunefunds.com
Franklin Templeton No http://www.franklintempleton.co.uk/
GAM Yes https://www.gam.com/
Hargreaves Lansdowne No http://www.hl.co.uk/
Hawksmoor investment management No http://www.hawksmoorim.co.uk/
Heartwood investment management No http://www.heartwoodgroup.co.uk/
Hermes Investment Management Yes https://www.hermes-investment.com/ukw/
Interactive Investor No http://www.iii.co.uk/funds
Invesco Perpetual Yes https://www.invescoperpetual.co.uk/uk
Kleinwort Hambros Yes https://www.kleinworthambros.com/en/
Lion Trust No http://www.liontrust.co.uk/
London and Capital Yes https://www.londonandcapital.com/
Majedie No http://www.majedie.com/
Mattioli Woods Yes https://www.mattioliwoods.com/
Mayfair Capital Yes https://www.mayfaircapital.co.uk/
Money Farm Yes https://www.moneyfarm.com/uk/
Montanaro Yes http://www.montanaro.co.uk/
Morning Star No http://www.morningstar.co.uk/uk/
MunnyPot Yes https://www.munnypot.com/
Nova Financial Yes https://www.novia-financial.co.uk/
Nutmeg Yes https://www.nutmeg.com/
Old Mutual Wealth Yes https://www.oldmutualwealth.co.uk/
Prospect Wealth Management Yes https://prospectwealth.co.uk/
Psigma investment maangement No http://www.psigma.com/pages/psigma-investment-management-landing.aspx
Quilter Cheviot Yes https://www.quiltercheviot.com/uk/private-client/
Rathbones Yes https://www.rathbones.com/
Sanlam Life and Pensions UK Limited Yes https://www.sanlam.co.uk/home.aspx
Saranac Partners Yes https://www.saranacpartners.com/
Scalable Capital Yes https://uk.scalable.capital/
SVM Asset Management No http://www.svmonline.co.uk/
Swanest Yes https://swanest.com/
TAM Yes https://www.tamassetmanagement.com/
Tilney Group Yes https://www.tilney.co.uk/
Troy Asset Management No http://www.taml.co.uk/
Unicorn Asset Management Yes https://www.unicornam.com/
Vanguard Asset Management Yes https://www.vanguardinvestor.co.uk/
Wealth Horizon No http://www.wealthhorizon.com/

Commentary

It is interesting that you cannot trust a name or a brand to be secure. For example, Aberdeen Asset Management is probably the one name that is most known in the UK. They are regularly featured on the early morning BBC Radio 4 Today Programme to provide their expert opinion. Unfortunately, their website is not secure.

A number of these companies have names that sound old and established, or strong and reliable. They are names, just that. The reliability is in their behaviour. A key part in that is “are they secure”?

Disclaimer

I shouldn’t need to point this out, but i will, all the same, just to be clear.

The data provided on this page should taken at face value. If you’re not sure about something, please verify it yourself. Nothing reported here should be regarded as a criticism or an endorsement or recommendation of an organisations security effectiveness. I am simply passing comment on whether the home page (whatever that may be) is provided as https on not. Other security concerns are a separate matter.

If your organisation is listed here and is not marked as secure, your best course of action is to fix that, not to complain that someone is reporting a fact anyone with a web browser can discover. The security status of your home page is public information, albeit information that many people don’t understand.



This post first appeared on Perfect Imprecision, Thoughts On Memory Leaks, Per, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

List of UK Wealth Management companies that are not secure by default

×

Subscribe to Perfect Imprecision, Thoughts On Memory Leaks, Per

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription

×