Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

African Footballer of the Year

African Footballer of the Year

The African Footballer of the Year award, presented to the best African footballer each year, has been conferred by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) since 1992.

An earlier African Footballer of the Year Golden Ball award was given out between 1970 and 1994 by France Football magazine. The changes resulted in parallel Golden Ball awards given out to Abedi Pele and George Weah in 1993 and 1994 by the magazine although the CAF sponsored awards for those years were won respectively by Rashidi Yekini and Emmanuel Amuneke, as well as two awards given to Abedi Pelé in 1992.

France Football discontinued the election from 1995 after the European Ballon d’Or – also awarded by the magazine – had been opened to all players in the European leagues.

On 2 February 2008, Sevilla’s Frédéric Kanouté was named the 2007 African Footballer of the Year. Kanouté, who was born in France, is the first European-born player to win the award (he plays for his father’s native country of Mali)

France Football award (1970–1994)

The award by France Football magazine was awarded to the best African footballer between 1970 and 1994. The award was discontinued in 1995 after the European Footballer of the Year (Ballon d’Or) was opened to players of non-European nationality, the award being given to George Weah that year. It had already been replaced by an official award given out by the Confederation of African Football since 1992.

African Player of the Year - the killerpunch news

Year Rank Player Team Points
1970 1st Mali Salif Keïta France Saint-Étienne 54
2nd Ivory Coast Laurent Pokou Ivory Coast ASEC Abidjan 28
Egypt Ali Abo Greisha Egypt Ismaily
1971 1st Ghana Ibrahim Sunday Ghana Asante Kotoko 29
2nd Ghana Robert Mensah Ghana Asante Kotoko 15
3rd Cameroon François Ndoumbé Cameroon Canon Yaoundé 13
1972 1st Guinea Chérif Souleymane Guinea Hafia 21
2nd Zaire Bwanga Tshimen Zaire TP Mazembe 16
3rd Guinea Petit Sory Guinea Hafia 14
1973 1st Zaire Bwanga Tshimen Zaire TP Mazembe 49
2nd Zaire Kazadi Mwamba Zaire TP Mazembe 44
3rd Ivory Coast Laurent Pokou Ivory Coast ASEC Abidjan 41
1974 1st Republic of the Congo Paul Moukila Republic of the Congo CARA Brazzaville 57
2nd Zaire Lobilo Boba Zaire Vita Club 32
3rd Egypt Hassan Shehata Egypt Zamalek 28
1975 1st Morocco Ahmed Faras Morocco Mohammédia 28
2nd Cameroon Roger Milla Cameroon Tonnerre Yaoundé 24
Guinea Mamadou Aliou Kéïta Guinea Hafia
1976 1st Cameroon Roger Milla Cameroon Tonnerre Yaoundé 33
2nd Guinea Papa Camara Guinea Hafia 32
3rd Algeria Ali Bencheikh Algeria MC Alger 27
1977 1st Tunisia Tarak Dhiab Tunisia Espérance Tunis 45
2nd Guinea Papa Camara Guinea Hafia 33
3rd Nigeria Segun Odegbami Nigeria Shooting Stars 29
1978 1st Ghana Karim Abdul Razak Ghana Asante Kotoko 58
2nd Algeria Ali Bencheikh Algeria MC Alger 33
3rd Cameroon Thomas N’Kono Cameroon Canon Yaoundé 29
1979 1st Cameroon Thomas N’Kono Cameroon Canon Yaoundé 55
2nd Ghana Adolf Armah Ghana Hearts of Oak 23
3rd Guinea Kerfalla Bangoura Guinea Horoya 15
1980 1st Cameroon Jean Manga-Onguéné Cameroon Canon Yaoundé 64
2nd Nigeria Segun Odegbami Nigeria Shooting Stars 41
3rd Cameroon Théophile Abega Cameroon Canon Yaoundé 18
1981 1st Algeria Lakhdar Belloumi Algeria GC Mascara 78
2nd Cameroon Thomas N’Kono Cameroon Canon Yaoundé 54
3rd Algeria Ali Fergani Algeria JS Kabylie 26
1982 1st Cameroon Thomas N’Kono Spain Espanyol 83
2nd Algeria Salah Assad

This post first appeared on The Killer Punch News | Latest News About Akwa Ibo, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

African Footballer of the Year


Subscribe to The Killer Punch News | Latest News About Akwa Ibo

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription