Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Buhari Swears In New INEC Commissioners

BEVERLY HILLS, December 07, (THEWILL) – President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday swore in the six newly appointed Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, charging the new officers to ensure that all elections must be credible.

The President administered the oath of allegiance and office on them in accordance with Section 154 (1) of the Nigerian constitution 1999 as amended.

The ceremony took place at the Council chamber of the State House Presidential Villa, Abuja shortly before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council, FEC.

Speaking at the event, the president said; “This administration will demand of you to be firm and fair. What this administration expects is that after we have left, Nigerians will look at the political history and know that we served Nigeria.

“We want every Nigeria to use his PVC processed by card reader, that they have been given the opportunity and security in their various constituencies to elect who they want to elect. The rest is left to their conscience and to God.”

Recall that the commissioners had been confirmed by the Senate. They include Ogunmola Ladipo, May Agbamuche, Abubakar Nahuche and Okechukwu Ibianu. Others are Mohammed Haruna and Ahmad Muazu.

According to the Nominees’ brief profile:

Mr. Ladipo From Oyo state was born on May 7, 1952. Until his swearing in Wednesday, he was the Resident Independent Electoral Commission, REC, in Lagos State.

Mrs Agbamuche, a lawyer is the Editor Thisday Lawyer, a publication of Thisday Newspaper.

Abubakar Nahuche from Zamfara state was born on May 19, 1953. He is a retired Army officer and a former CEO of defunct NITEL.

Mr. Ibianu from Anambra state was born on November 3,1959. He is a former Technical adviser to INEC from 2010-2015.

Mr. Mohammed Haruna, a Journalist hails from Niger state was born on September 22, 1951.

He was an editor of New Nigerian Newspaper and former spokesperson of former Head of State, Abdulsalami Abubakar.

Ahmad Muazu, a retired Air Vice Marshall of Nigerian Airforce was born on September 6, 1967 in Gombe.

Speaking on behalf of the other new commissioners, Mr. Ibianu thanked the president and Nigerians for “the challenging opportunity to serve the country”.

While assuring that all the commissioners would uphold the oath administered on them, he said, “We ask Nigerians for support to continue to improve the advances recorded in the electoral processes so far”.

This post first appeared on News In Nigeria, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Buhari Swears In New INEC Commissioners


Subscribe to News In Nigeria

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription