Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

57 constituencies across eight states, UTs going to polls tomorrow


NEW DELHI: The Election Commission of India is ready to conduct Phase-7 of the Lok Sabha polls tomorrow, marking the final phase of the world’s largest polling exercise. This phase will see polling in 57 Parliamentary Constituencies (PCs) across eight states and Union Territories, including Bihar, Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

Additionally, the remaining 42 Assembly Constituencies of the Odisha State Legislative Assembly will also go to the polls simultaneously.

This phase concludes the election process that began on April 19 and has already covered six phases and 486 Lok Sabha seats. Polling for 28 states/UTs and 486 PCs has been completed smoothly and peacefully. The counting of votes is scheduled to take place on June 4.

ALSO READ: Pawan Singh expelled from BJP for contesting against NDA candidate

Polling parties have been dispatched along with electronic voting machines and other poll materials to their respective polling stations. State CEOs and machinery have been instructed to manage the adverse impact of hot weather or potential rainfall.

Despite the hot weather, voter turnout has been impressive in the previous phases, with female voter turnout surpassing male turnout in the last two phases. The Election Commission has urged voters to participate in large numbers, voting with responsibility and pride.

Phase-7 will involve around 10.9 lakh polling officials welcoming over 10.06 crore electors across approximately 1.09 lakh polling stations. Special measures, including 13 special trains and eight helicopter sorties for Himachal Pradesh, have been arranged to transport polling and security personnel.

A total of 172 observers, including general, police, and expenditure observers, are deployed to ensure vigilance. Special observers have been stationed in certain states for additional oversight. Additionally, over 5,000 surveillance teams and thousands of border check posts are in place to prevent any illicit activities during the election process.

In Uttar Pradesh, a tough fight is expected in Varanasi, where Prime Minister Narendra Modi is contesting against Ajay Rai of Congress. Similarly, in Gorakhpur, Ravi Kishan of the BJP is facing a strong challenge from Kajal Nishad of the Samajwadi Party.

ALSO READ: Shyam Rangeela’s nomination among 33 rejected in Varanasi

In Bihar, the Karakat constituency is witnessing a fierce battle between an independent candidate and Bhojpuri singer Pawan Singh, who is contesting against Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Morcha. In the Patna Sahib constituency, former Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad of the BJP is up against Anshul Avijit Kushwaha of Congress, marking another intense contest.

In Himachal Pradesh, the Mandi constituency is seeing a tough fight between Bollywood actress Kangana Ranaut and Vikramaditya Singh of Congress.

All 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in Punjab are set to go to the polls. In Chandigarh, Manish Tiwari of Congress is contesting against Sanjay Tandon of the BJP.

Results of this loksabha elections will determine the trajectory of nation.

The post 57 constituencies across eight states, UTs going to polls tomorrow appeared first on THE NEW INDIAN.

This post first appeared on Late CDS Rawat, Kalyan Singh Feted; Nadella, Pichai, COVAXIN’s Ellas Get Bhushans, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

57 constituencies across eight states, UTs going to polls tomorrow