Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Goa: Manohar Parrikar sworn in as Chief Minister

PANAJI: BJP leader and former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar was sworn in Chief Minister of Goa on Tuesday by Governor Mridula Sinha.

Parrikar, who resigned as Defence Minister, was administered the oath of office in presence of top BJP leaders including BJP national president Amit Shah, Union Ministers Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, J.P. Nadda and several other dignitaries.

Nine ministers were also sworn in during the ceremony, namely Sudin Dhavalikar and Manohar Azgaonkar of the Maharashtrawdi Gomantak Party, Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palienkar and Jayesh Salgaonkar of the Goa Forward, Francis D’Souza, Pandurang Madkaikar of the BJP and Independent legislators Govind Gawde and Rohan Khaunte.

The Congress had last night made a representation to the governor asking her to invite the party to form the government in the coastal state.

The governor has invited the BJP-led alliance to form the government and the swearing-in is scheduled this evening.

In response to a Congress’ petition against appointment of Manohar Parrikar as state Chief Minister, the apex court earlier today refused to stay his swearing-in as CM and directed that the assembly session be convened at 11 AM on March 16.

Earlier during the day, AICC General Secretary Digvijaya Singh, after chairing a meeting of the party MLAs, had alleged that the governor did not invite the Congress to form the government despite having been given a letter on March 12 seeking an opportunity for it

This post first appeared on Daily Kiran, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Goa: Manohar Parrikar sworn in as Chief Minister


Subscribe to Daily Kiran

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription