Missouri Changes the Missouri Marriage Law Age requirements
ST LOUIS, MO – On Tuesday, August 28, 2018, a new law will go into effect, which changes the age requirements for obtaining a marriage license in Missouri: Marriage license applicants under the age of 18 require parental consent before a marriage license will be issued.
- The minimum age for marriage increases from 15 to 16 years of age
- Marriage license applicants under the age of 18 must present written consent from a custodial parent or guardian before a marriage license will be issued
- Marriage licenses will not be issued if one party is 21 years or older, and the other party is under 18 years old
All applicants for a marriage license must provide proof of age to the Recorder of Deeds in the form of a certified copy of a birth certificate, passport, or other government-issued identification, and that proof will be documented by the Recorder’s Office.
Continue reading Missouri News: New Law Changes Missouri Marriage Law, Age Requirements at STL.News.