Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Division III Player of Year Kasper leads AP All-America Team

/December 14, 2017 (AP)(STL.NEWS) —

Division III player of the year Brett Kasper of Wisconsin-Oshkosh was selected as the first-team quarterback on The Associated Press D-III All-America team.

Kasper won the Gagliardi Trophy on Wednesday night in Salem, Virginia, where the Division III championship game will be played Friday. Mount Union faces Mary Hardin-Baylor in a matchup of undefeated teams.

Mary Hardin-Baylor placed four players on the first team, more than any other school, with offensive lineman Corbin Campbell, all-purpose player Bryce Wilkinson, defensive lineman Haston Adams and defensive back Kris Brown. Mount Union offensive linemen Cole Parrish made the first team and three of his teammates were second-team picks.

The team was chosen by a panel of sports information directors from around the country and released Thursday.




Quarterback — Brett Kasper, Senior, Wisconsin-Oshkosh.

Running backs — John Smith, senior, Husson; Austin Breunig, senior, North Central.

Linemen — Cole Parrish, senior, Mount Union; Matt Gono, senior, Wesley; Corbin Campbell, senior, Mary Hardin-Baylor; Ty Summers, senior, Wisconsin-Oshkosh; Vic Rodriguez, senior, Hardin-Simmons.

Tight end — Jacob Maher, sophomore, Worcester State.

Receivers — Jesse Zubik, senior, Washington & Jefferson; Nick Holcomb, senior, Wisconsin-La Crosse.

All-purpose player — Bryce Wilkerson, senior, Mary Hardin-Baylor.

Kicker — Willy Warne, junior, Linfield.


Linemen — Haston Adams, senior, Mary Hardin-Baylor; Mamadou Soumahoro, senior, Berry; Niles Scott, senior, Frostburg State; Mike Riley, junior, Rose-Hulman.

Linebackers — Jordan Hassan, senior, Illinois Wesleyan; Darin Hungerford, senior, Kean; Ty Parsons, senior, East Texas Baptist.

Backs —  O’Shea Anderson, senior, Washington & Jefferson; Kris Brown, senior, Mary Hardin-Baylor; Michael Joseph, senior, Dubuque; Jake O’Connell, senior, Brockport.

Punter — Tyler Kohman, senior, Carnegie Mellon.



Quarterback — Chase Burton, senior, Franklin.

Running backs — Roger Walker, senior, Marietta; Josh Breece, freshman, Washington & Lee; (tie) Christiaan Williams, sophomore, Ohio Northern.

Linemen — Adan Barrientos, senior, Brockport; Joe Fehrle, North Central; Matt Beck, junior, St. Thomas; Ben McFall, senior, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Brock Riggs, senior, Heidelberg.

Tight end — Zach Lindquist, senior, Wheaton.

Receivers — Justin Hill, sophomore, Mount Union; Riley Brockway, senior, Wartburg.

All-purpose player — Reese Childress, junior, Hardin-Simmons; (tie) Cameron Vocke, senior, Heidelberg.

Kicker — Nathan Hierlihy, junior, Redlands.


Linemen — Chase Greenlee, senior, Wheaton; Austin Crow, senior, Heidelberg; Monte Lee, senior, Ferrum; Elijah Berry, senior, Mount Union.

Linebackers —  Charlie Dear, senior, Mount Union; Jason Farlow, senior, Linfield; Mason McKenrick, senior, John Carroll.

Backs — Jordan Powell, junior, Widener; Fred Hargrove, sophomore, Otterbein; Quan Soyini, junior, Husson; Trevor Staley, junior, Illinois Wesleyan.

Punter — Andrew DiNardo, senior, Catholic.


Selection panel: Mark Adkins, Manchester; Kelly Bird, Linfield; Fran Elia, Cortland;  Jeff Garvin, Heidelberg; Timothy Glon, Ohio Northern; Chad Grubbs, Hardin-Simmons; Brent Harris, Wabash; Geoff Henson, Olivet; Craig Hicks, Denison; Jeff Hoedt, Trine; Jennifer Jones, Birmingham Southern; Sean King, Washington & Jefferson; Kevin Lanke, Rose-Hulman; Brian Laubscher, Washington & Lee; Chris Lindeke; UW-Whitewater; Brian Magoffin, Springfield; Brett Marhanka, Wheaton (Ill.); Mike Scala, Montclair State; Clark Teuscher, North Central; Matt Tittle, Becker.


By Associated Press, published on STL.NEWS by St. Louis Media, LLC (ZS)


The post Division III Player of Year Kasper leads AP All-America Team appeared first on STL.News.

This post first appeared on STL.News, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Division III Player of Year Kasper leads AP All-America Team


Subscribe to

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription