News Desk |
Dhoni, an honorary lieutenant colonel in the Territorial Army sported its dagger insignia on his gloves during India’s opening World Cup match against South Africa. This contravened two rules: one relating to the display of “personal messages” and the other concerning the logo on his gloves, which allows only the display of the manufacturer.
ICC raised the red flag after it noticed the insignia of a dagger on the back of MS Dhoni’s gloves in a match against South Africa on June 5th. The dagger seems to be a replica used by the Indian Army.
The ICC had warned the Board of Control for Cricket in Indian to ask MS Dhoni not to wear the gloves in future matches. The Indian cricketing board, however, in return requested the ICC to allow MS Dhoni to wear the gloves, which ICC rejected.
If there is a specific norm that has to be followed, we will not break that norm. We will play the game by the rules of the ICC in letter and spirit.
He would be fined 25% of his match fee for the second-time breach. This would then rise to 50% on the third breach and 75% on the fourth breach.
Vinod Rai, the head Chairman of Administrators, said he requested the ICC to allow Dhoni to wear the gloves but ICC rejected the plea. The BCCI, however, does not want to escalate the matter.
“If there is any flexibility available, we have sought permission for the ICC to allow the player to wear the gloves,” Rai said. “If there is a specific norm that has to be followed, we will not break that norm. We will play the game by the rules of the ICC in letter and spirit.”
Read more: Malala takes hilarious dig at Indian team at Cricket World Cup…
He said: “And it is not the paramilitary regimental dagger that is embossed in his gloves. So, Dhoni is not in breach of ICC regulations.” Meanwhile, this is how Twitter reacted: