Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

ACE Eddie nominations include “Dunkirk” and “I, Tonya”

This morning, the American Cinema Editors announced their nominees for 68th annual ACE Eddie Awards. This is one of the most important guilds to take notice of, due to how Best Film Editing at the Academy Awards can often link up to Best Picture. It’s not a perfect correlation, but when looking for hints as to what voters might do, anything helps. Here, they’ve nominated almost all of the likely Best Picture nominees, so that’s a help. In fact, outside of Baby Driver and Molly’s Game, I’d say the other eight contenders here are among the favorites to make the big lineup. Time will tell, of course, but ACE is working from a list of frontrunners this year, that’s for sure.

Below you can see the nominees for the ACE Eddie. Last year, the big winners were Arrival and La La Land, though Hacksaw Ridge wound up taking the Oscar in Best Film Editing. This year, it’s a wide open race, so any of the films cited by ACE. The Dramatic category seems to favor Dunkirk and editor Lee Smith, though watch out for Blade Runner 2049, as Joe Walker is a previous winner here. As for Comedic, it could literally go to any of the five nominees, though I, Tonya might very well play spoiler. In the Animated field, it seems like Coco has it in the bag. We shall see though…

Here now are the ACE Eddie nominations:

Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)

“Blade Runner 2049” (Joe Walker, ACE)
“Dunkirk” (Lee Smith, ACE)
“Molly’s Game” (Alan Baumgarten, ACE, Josh Schaeffer & Elliot Graham, ACE)
“The Post” (Michael Kahn, ACE & Sarah Broshar)
“The Shape of Water” (Sidney Wolinsky, ACE)

Best Edited Feature Film (Comedic)

“Baby Driver” (Jonathan Amos, ACE & Paul Machliss, ACE)
“Get Out” (Gregory Plotkin)
“I, Tonya” (Tatiana S. Riegel, ACE)
“Lady Bird” (Nick Houy)
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri” (Jon Gregory, ACE)

Best Edited Animated Feature Film

“Coco” (Steve Bloom)
“Despicable Me 3” (Clair Dodgson)
“The Lego Batman Movie” (David Burrows, ACE, Matt Villa & John Venzon, ACE)

Best Edited Documentary (Feature)

“Cries From Syria” (Aaron I. Butler)
“Jane” (Joe Beshenkovsky, ACE, Will Znidaric, Brett Morgen)
“Joan Didion: The Center Will Not Hold” (Ann Collins)
“LA 92” (TJ Martin, Scott Stevenson, Dan Lindsay)

Best Edited Documentary (Small Screen)

“The Defiant Ones” — “Part 1” (Lasse Järvi, Doug Pray)
“Five Came Back” — “The Price of Victory” (Will Znidaric)
“The Nineties” — “Can We All Get Along?” (Inbal Lessner, ACE)
“Rolling Stone: Stories from the Edge” — “01” (Ben Sozanski, ACE, Geeta Gandbhir; Andy Grieve, ACE)

Best Edited Comedy Series for Commercial Television

“Black-ish” — “Lemons” (John Peter Bernardo, Jamie Pedroza)
“Crazy Ex-Girlfriend” — “Josh’s Ex-Girlfriend Wants Revenge” (Kabir Akhtar, ACE & Kyla Plewes)
“Portlandia” — “Amore” (Heather Capps, Ali Greer, Jordan Kim)
“Will & Grace” — Grandpa Jack” (Peter Beyt)

Best Edited Comedy Series for Non-Commercial Television

“Curb Your Enthusiasm” — “Fatwa!” (Steven Rasch, ACE)
“Curb Your Enthusiasm” — “The Shucker” (Jonathan Corn, ACE)
“Glow” — “Pilot” (William Turro, ACE)
“Veep” — “Chicklet” (Roger Nygard, ACE & Gennady Fridman)

Best Edited Drama Series for Commercial Television

“Better Call Saul” — “Chicanery” (Skip Macdonald, ACE)
“Better Call Saul” — “Witness” (Kelley Dixon, ACE & Skip Macdonald, ACE)
“Fargo” — “Aporia” (Henk Van Eeghen, ACE)
“Fargo” — “Who Rules the Land of Denial” (Andrew Seklir, ACE)

Best Edited Drama Series for Non-Commercial Television

“Big Little Lies” — “You Get What You Need” (David Berman)
“Game of Thrones” — “Beyond the Wall” (Tim Porter, ACE)
“The Handmaid’s Tale” — “Offred” (Julian Clarke, ACE & Wendy Hallam Martin)
“Stranger Things” — “The Gate” (Kevin D. Ross, ACE)

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television

“Feud” — “Pilot” (Adam Penn, ACE & Ken Ramos)
“Genius: Einstein” — “Chapter One” (James D. Wilcox)
“The Wizard of Lies” (Ron Patane)

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series

“Deadliest Catch” — “Lost at Sea” (Rob Butler, ACE & Ben Bulatao, ACE)
“Leah Remini: Scientology and the Aftermath” — “The Perfect Scientology Family” (Reggie Spangler, Ben Simoff, Kevin Hibbard & Vince Oresman)
“VICE News Tonight” — “Charlottesville: Race & Terror” (Tim Clancy, Cameron Dennis, John Chimples & Denny Thomas)

Stay tuned to see which movies take home the ACE Eddies on January 26th!

Free Watch X DVDs

Hot XXX Pictures

ACE Eddie nominations include “Dunkirk” and “I, Tonya”

The post ACE Eddie Nominations Include “Dunkirk” and “I, Tonya” appeared first on FilmStar.Space.

This post first appeared on FilmStar.Space, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

ACE Eddie nominations include “Dunkirk” and “I, Tonya”


Subscribe to

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription