Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

DO you know who the first Deputy prime Minister of India was?

DO you know who the first Deputy Prime               Minister of India was?

Before to say anything on this topic I would like to share my one experience with all of you. Once upon a time I and my friends were dealing with one constitutional case. That case was on the constitutional power of the president of India so we were discussing about president suddenly I asked one question to all my friends that “who was the first president of India?” my all friends were blank because they never heard anything about DPM they said in our democracy we don’t have such  position I said “we had DPM but now we don’t have”. They told me to bring some proof I laughed that time because I was sure that we had DPM position because I was an Arts student in my 12th standard I had political science and my political science’s professor discussed this many time but I never heard properly but I had basic idea about the conversation. Though this topic is not so important but when my life moved further those small small things were coming ahead in my life and that time I understood the worth of knowledge.

     The Deputy Prime Minister of India is a member of the Indian cabinet under the Indian government, but this post is not a constitutional post and seldom carries any specific powers. Generally the DPM also holds other key portfolio like home minister or finance minister. Though the Indian constitution does not specify the position and Prime minister himself being treated as “first among equals” in the cabinet the position of DPM is sometimes used by government to bring political stability and strength by including a powerful individual or in times of emergency when a proper claim of command is necessary. The first DPM of India was Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel and the last was Lal Krishna Advani but now in India we don’t have such position.

1.   Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel- 15thAugust 1947 to 50
2.   Moraji Desai- 1967 to 69
3.   Choudhary Charan Singh- 1977 to 78
4.   Jagjivan Ram- 1978 to 79
5.   Yashvantrochavan- 1979 to 80 (lost election)
6.   Chaudhari Devi Lal- 1989-90
7.   Chaudhari Devi Lal- 1991-928.   
8.Lal Krishna Advani- 2002- 04 (lost election)

This post first appeared on M's, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

DO you know who the first Deputy prime Minister of India was?


Subscribe to M's

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription