Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

The Young World by Chris Weitz | Audiobook Review

I received this Book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Young World by Chris Weitz
Series: The Young World Trilogy #1
Narrator: Spencer Locke, Jose Julian
Length: 8 Hours 34 Minutes
on July 29th 2014
Genres: Young Adult Fiction, Action & Adventure, General, Survival Stories, Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 384
Format: Audiobook, eARC
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon
ISBN: 9780316226271
Goodreads

"Chris Weitz has made a beautiful transition from writing and directing films to novels. The Young World is populated with characters you won't forget and a story as fresh and urgent as Divergent."--James Patterson, #1 NY Times bestselling author of Maximum Ride. Welcome to New York, a city ruled by teens.After a mysterious Sickness wipes out the rest of the population, the young survivors assemble into tightly run tribes. Jefferson, the reluctant leader of the Washington Square tribe, and Donna, the girl he's secretly in love with, have carved out a precarious existence among the chaos. But when a fellow tribe member discovers a clue that may hold the cure for the Sickness, five teens set out on a life-altering road trip, exchanging gunfire with enemy gangs, escaping cults and militias, braving the wilds of the subway--all in order to save humankind.This first novel from acclaimed film writer/director Chris Weitz is the heart-stopping debut of an action-packed trilogy.

Why Did I Listen To The Young World?

The Young World by Chris Weitz was recently offered as part of the Audiosync Summer Listening promotion. Yes, of course, I had to grab my FREE copy of it. I mean, I had this book just hanging out adding a percentage to my netgalley queue. I am so glad I listened to the audiobook of The Young World instead of reading on my Kindle. Truth be told, I had downloaded the netgalley and then somehow got worn out with dystopian fiction.  I am ready now to re-enter dystopias now with a bit of time passing since the last time I read something dystopian. Straight up, after listening to this book I went and added the rest of the series to my goodreads TBR.

What’s The Story Here?

Set in New York City, The Young World by Chris Weitz is about what happens after a sickness wipes out the world’s population of adults and children – leaving behind only teenagers who then die when they reach adulthood from the sickness. Jefferson is the leader of his group of teenagers. Donna, the other narrator, is essentially the girl that Jefferson loves.  They begin an arduous journey from New York City to Long Island when the teens discover that there might be a cure and hope for civilization. Things like race and gender are addressed as well as sexuality are addressed along the way– making this book a bit deeper than expected.

How Are Jefferson and Donna As Characters?

The main characters of The Young World are Jefferson and Donna. They alternate chapters. I thought that Jefferson really eventually does grow into his leadership. I liked that he relied on input from others and seemed to have a more noble vision than some of the other groups of kids who inhabit the young world. As for Donna, she is outspoken and I love it. I also love how she isn’t really into Jefferson until a series of events and well, the way it happens is typical teenager – just in a dystopian world. The two make really engaging characters to read about.

How Is The World Building?

I won’t lie, I thought that a world run by teenagers would be a little bit less violent and more peaceful than a world run by adults. Apparently, I forgot to count on hormones and brains that are not fully developed. So, the world within The Young World is a terrifying one. Racism still exists in this world. The teens have broken into little sub groups. One group is comprised of cannibals. Another group is comprised of guys who use girls in a very horrific way. There’s also a marketplace where some pretty shady things happen. So, in all honesty, the world building in The Young World is the sort of awful that you cannot look away from. I basically could not get enough of this book because of how vivid it was.

How’s The Narration?

There are dual narrators within the audiobook of The Young World. The audiobook is narrated by Spencer Locke and Jose Julian. In this case, the narrators have totally sold me on this book and this series. I do not think I would have much of a desire to continue if I did not listen to the audiobook. The way Locke and Julian narrate has a way that draws you in. The voices of the narrators are infused with emotion. They actually sound like real people whose voices get animated when they tell you something that incites feelings. I was drawn into this audiobook the entire time I listened. I never found myself bored or my mind wandering.

Sum It Up With A GIF:

You know how in The 100, the teenagers on Earth are pretty much in charge? Also how some not so smart things happen? It is an expectation I should have had for this book.

Other reviews of The Young World by Chris Weitz:

Storybook Slayers – “This book was weird for me.”

Jessica’s Book World – “perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner”

Support Good Books & Good Wine with your Amazon Purchases by clicking below:

Peek Inside The Young World:

The post The Young World by Chris Weitz | Audiobook Review appeared first on Good Books & Good Wine.



This post first appeared on Good Books & Good Wine, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

The Young World by Chris Weitz | Audiobook Review

×

Subscribe to Good Books & Good Wine

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription

×