Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

The Guest Book-ARC Review

WELCOME TO THE ANCHORAGE, FOR A HONEYMOON YOU’LL NEVER FORGET . . .

C. L. Pattison, bestselling author of THE HOUSEMATE, returns with THE GUEST BOOK: a haunting psychological thriller for fans of Louise Jensen and Jane Corry.

That night, with the storm howling relentlessly, Grace is woken by a child crying. She is haunted by the sound, until Charles convinces her it was only her imagination. But the next day, she finds a warning scrawled in the guest book: Leave now. Do not trust them.

As the storm rages on, days go by and phone lines are down, transport links cut off. Grace is desperate to leave, but Charles remains unaffected by the eerie stillness of the house. Is it just Grace’s imagination or do the owners, and Charles, have something to hide?

THANK YOU FOR STAYING AT THE ANCHORAGE. WE HOPE YOU’LL BE BACK SOON…

The Guest Book by C.L. Pattison

Pages: 288

Publishing Date: May27th, 2021

Publisher: Random House UK, Vintage

MY THOUGHTS

Thank you to Netgalley and Publisher for this e-ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Grace and Charles are on the way of their dream honeymoon but destiny got different plans. Due to the weather, they had to stay in Saltwater. All the guest houses are booked so they have to stay at Anchorage, which is not what Grace had in her mind, she is more than unhappy but Charles is reliving his childhood/teenage visits here. Anchorage is not what it seems, the hosts are also hiding something.

First of all Why it is named The Guest Book? There was just a tiny part about the guest book. I struggled in connecting with everything. Grace and Charles as a married couple didn’t make sense to me. I didn’t find any chemistry between them except what the author was telling. Charles as an individual character is so shady and unlikeable. Grace was a bit sane but I am done with mystery books using characters who are drunk or facing PTSD or other disorders for the sake of developing the whole story. It is the same pattern in almost all of the books.

I found the pace too slow and writing wasn’t my cup of tea too. It is that kind of book which was too hard. I liked the final twist and it is the only thing I enjoyed.

CONNECT WITH ME: GOODREADS|TWITTER|INSTAGRAM



This post first appeared on Books Tales By Me, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

The Guest Book-ARC Review

×

Subscribe to Books Tales By Me

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription

×