Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

THE QUANTUM ASTROLOGER’S HANDBOOK by Michael Brooks, Book Review

A history of the Renaissance mathematics that birthed imaginary numbers, probability, and the new physics of the universe.

Michael Brooks Quantum Astrologer's Handbook Review

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook Synopsis

A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other.

This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of Quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world.

The Quantum Astrologer’s Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.

(Scribe Publications, October 2017)

BOOK REVIEW

It's not often that non-fiction gains a spot on my leisure reading pile. But the moment I read the synopsis for science writer Michael Brook's new release, I knew it was something I'd enjoy. The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is narrative non-fiction, with a very interesting twist involving the debate surrounding time as the fourth dimension.

continue reading



This post first appeared on Booklover Book Reviews, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

THE QUANTUM ASTROLOGER’S HANDBOOK by Michael Brooks, Book Review

×

Subscribe to Booklover Book Reviews

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription

×