Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

What are the Standards of NEMA Computer Enclosure?

When you are having a Computer Enclosure customized, you may have encountered the term Nema computer enclosure. The term simply means an enclosure design that meets some industry standards particularly NEMA. The letters NEMA stands for National Electrical Manufacturers Association. The numbers that usually comes after that acronym signifies the level of protection that the computer enclosure provides. Combined together they form the NEMA code which is a type of rating of protection of that particular computer enclosure. The protection these products provide is against corrosive materials like rust, dust, liquids, humidity and other foreign bodies.

The ratings for NEMA Computer Enclosure are predominantly used in the United States and these are very similar to the IP rating of Europe which is used elsewhere. These ratings are used by architects, engineers, inspectors, installers and other parties like kiosk manufacturers as a standard for these types of products.
NEMA ratings range from 1, 2, 4, 4x, 5, 6, 6P, 12, 12k, and 13. As an example, a computer enclosure with a NEMA 4 rating signifies that is constructed for outdoor and indoor use and is designed to provide protection from hose-directed water, splashing water, windblown dust, snow, sleet, rain and dirt. An additional feature of the rating stipulates that the enclosure can resist damage caused by formation of ice on the exterior of the enclosure. However, it cannot protect your computer from internal icing or formation of ice in the internal parts of the computer.

If compared to the ratings of the IP systems, it is as follows:

  • IP54 = NEMA 13 OR 3
  • IP65/IP66 = NEMA 4X
  • IP56 = NEMA 4

The ratings that range from 1 to 13 indicate the levels of protection these NEMA computer enclosures provide for your computing machines. These ratings are applied and categorized according to non-hazardous and hazardous locations. The ratings cover a wide range of protection levels that differ for each number.

For example, NEMA 1 and 2 is an enclosure type that has a protective application in environment conditions when properly and completely installed in non-hazardous locations. Both types of enclosures are ventilated. NEMA 1 and 2 provide the same protection against: access to dangerous parts and falling dirt or ingress of some solid foreign objects. NEMA 2 applies an additional layer of protection against light splashing and dripping of water.

The information for NEMA rating is vital in the production of computer enclosures and its application. You will need a deep understanding for this rating so it would be better to hire an expert kiosk manufacturer who can explain and apply the appropriate standards for your computer enclosure needs. Applying these industry standards for the protection of your enclosures is actually a practical solution used in industrial areas. It reduces the costs of maintenance and upkeep of computers and lengthens the life of their usability. It also differentiates the type of materials will be used in creating these enclosures to comply with these standards. For example, to comply with the NEMA4 rating, the enclosure must be made of either mild steel (to resist splashes and dusty areas) or stainless steel (to resist a washdown using high powered jets).

The ratings are applied on a variety of computer enclosures ranging from the smallest form for the desktop to the huge stand up units.

This post first appeared on Blog, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

What are the Standards of NEMA Computer Enclosure?


Subscribe to Blog

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription