Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Five Countries Celebrating Independence Day On 15 August

India is celebrating its 73rd Independence Day on 15th August, but only some of us knew that there are other five countries in the world who also celebrate their Independence Day on 15th August. Countries celebrating Independence Day on 15th August are North Korea, South Korea, Congo, Bahrain and Liechtenstein.

1. India

Independence day

India celebrates its Independence Day annually on 15th August commemorating its independence from the United Kingdom on 15 August 1947. Its not only the only nation in the world which celebrates its Independence day on 15th August.

2. South and North Korea

Korea Independence day
Korea Independence day Source:

South Korea and North Korea were liberated from Japanese colonization on August 15, 1945, 74 years ago. They are celebrating their 75th Independence Day this year. Gwangbokjeol (meaning Time of the Restoration of Light) is one of the festival celebrated both in South and North Korea.

3. The Republic of Congo

Congo Independence day

The Republic of Congo is a Central African country that gained independence on 15 August 1960 from France. This year congo will be celebrating its 60th Independence Day.

4. Liechtenstein

Liechtenstein Independence day

The European country Liechtenstein also gained independence on 15 August from German rule. It is one of the sixth smallest country of the world which celebrate its Independence day with Catholic mass and free drinks and sandwich at the prince castle.

5. Bahrain

Bahrain Independence day
Bahrain Independence day Source:

Bahrain, the ancient land of the Dilmun civilisation gained independence from the British government on 14 August 1971, thus Bahrain declared its independence day on 15 August. The residents of Bahrain refused to celebrate the Independence Day given by the British government and the day of the coronation of the country’s former emperor Salman Al Khalifa was declared to be December 16 as Independence Day.. Bahrain has been ruled by various empires like Arabs and Portugal, later it became a British protectorate in the 19th century.

Also Read: Indian Independence Day Quotes

This post first appeared on Ritiriwaz, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Five Countries Celebrating Independence Day On 15 August


Subscribe to Ritiriwaz

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription