Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Chinese Astrology in Nutshell

The Chinese Astrology is classified based on repeating 12-year cycle, and based on one’s birth details, an animal representing the zodiac is assigned (circle of animals). It is believed that Chinese astrology gives insightful details uncovering career direction, personal traits, health forecast and so forth.

However, Chinese astrology is a little complicated in the sense that Chinese New Years falls on a different day every year, therefore, one has to verify one’s zodiac by comparing one’s birth date with new year.


Chinese zodiac signs comprise of 12 animals representation based on the birth year is in accordance with Chinese lunar calendar.

You must understand that the Chinese New Year see a regular shift between 21st Jan and 20th Feb. Therefore, one born on Jan or Feb should check if they were born before or after the Chinese New Year to determine one’s Chinese zodiac year.


The Twelve animals of Chinese astrology along with their Earthly Branches (Element) are as below:

  1. Rat (Yang Wood) – 1912, 1924, 1936, 1948, 1960, 1972, 1984, 1996, 2008
  2. Ox (Yin Wood) – 1913, 1925, 1937, 1949, 1961, 1973, 1985, 1997, 2009
  3. Tiger (Yang Fire) – 1914, 1926, 1938, 1950, 1962, 1974, 1986, 1998, 2010
  4. Rabbit (Yin Fire) – 1915, 1927, 1939, 1951, 1963, 1975, 1987, 1999, 2011
  5. Dragon (Yang Earth) – 1916, 1928, 1940, 1952, 1964, 1976, 1988, 2000, 2012
  6. Snake (Yin Earth) – 1917, 1929, 1941, 1953, 1965, 1977, 1989, 2001, 2013
  7. Horse (Yang Metal) – 1918, 1930, 1942, 1954, 1966, 1978, 1990, 2002, 2014
  8. Goat (Yin Metal) – 1919, 1931, 1943, 1955, 1967, 1979, 1991, 2003, 2015
  9. Monkey (Yang Water) – 1920, 1932, 1944, 1956, 1968, 1980, 1992, 2004, 2016
  10. Rooster (Yin Water) – 1921, 1933, 1945, 1957, 1969, 1981, 1993, 2005, 2017
  11. Dog (Yang Wood) – 1922, 1934, 1946, 1958, 1970, 1982, 1994, 2006, 2018
  12. Pig (Yin Wood) – 1923, 1935, 1947, 1959, 1971, 1983, 1995, 2007, 2019

In the above table ‘Yin’ and ‘Yang’ is basically because of the odd and even number of toes, claws or hoofs of the animal representing them. Example, Dragon had 5 toes per limb, thus odd (Yang). Or, Rooster has 4 toes per limb and it is even (Yin).


1st Trine: Rat, Monkey, and Dragon are considered to be 1st Trine. The signs of 1st Trine are considered to be auspicious because it is the person a with 1st Trine sign are capable of great power and can make a great leader, but are often unpredictable.

One with the 1st trine sign is said to be charming, intelligent, confident and artistic, but can also be vindictive and selfish.

2nd Trine: Ox, Rooster, and Snake are considered to be the 2nd Trine. One with 2nd Trine sign is said to have endurance.

One with the 2nd trine sign is honest, patient and morally upright, but can also be an egotist, narrow-minded and self-righteous.

3rd Trine: Tiger, Horse and Snake are considered to be in 3rd Trine. These are independent, seeker of true love and pursue a social cause.

On top of that, these are productive, dynamic and protective, but can also be quarrelsome and anxious.

4th Trine: Rabbit, Goat, and Pig falls in 4th Trine. 4th trine people are said to be calm and intellectual, with the deep quest for artistry and are well-mannered and compassionate.

One with 4th Trine are caring, sensible, creative and empathetic, but can also be insecure, naive and pessimistic.


In above table you can see the Earthly Branches in the bracket that is the element you represent, as in the case of Goat, it is Yin Metal. However, there is another logic to determining your element as well. To do so, simply consider the last element of your birth year and look for your element below:

0 or 1: Metal

2 or 3: Water

4 or 5: Wood

6 or 7: Fire

8 or 9: Earth


Rat: Attributes to ‘Wisdom’.

Ox: attributes to ‘Industriousness’.

Tiger: attributes to ‘Valor’.

Rabbit: attributes to ‘Caution’.

Dragon: attributes to ‘Strength’.

Snake: attributes to ‘Flexibility’.

Horse: attributes to ‘Forging Ahead’.

Goat: attributes to ‘Unity’.

Monkey: attributes to ‘Changeability’.

Rooster: attributes to ‘Being Constant’.

Dog: attributes to ‘Fidelity’.

Pig: attributes to ‘Amiability’.

Thus, one can see that Chinese astrology gives an insightful picture of one’s characteristics as a person. The animals are classified based on Chinese New Year and are assigned based on the time of the birth and animals representing Zodiac haves specific meaning attached to it. With this beautiful picture of Chinese astrology, we leave you to figure your astrology.

The post Chinese Astrology in Nutshell appeared first on AstroVidhi.

This post first appeared on Career Horoscope 2016-Aries - AstroVidhi, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Chinese Astrology in Nutshell


Subscribe to Career Horoscope 2016-aries - Astrovidhi

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription