Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

VGMAs 2016: Sarkodie, E.L, Bisa Kdei are the big winners of the night

The 17th edition of the music awards scheme was held at the Accra International Conference Center.

Sarkodie, Stonebwoy, Efya, EL, R2Bees, Wizkid, Joe Mettle and Adomaa performed at the event which was hosted by Chris Attoh, DJ Black and Naa Ashorkor.
In another twist, Wizkid on picking up his 'African Artiste of the Year Award' came out to publicly announce the signing of some of the biggest Ghanaian acts including soul singer Efya, duo R2Bees, and Mr Eazi to 'Starboy Worldwide'.  He also added that Paedae of R2bees aka Omar Sterling, is the President of the newly-expanded Starboy imprint.

Check out full list of winners below.

  1. Artiste of the Year – E.L
  2. Afropop Song of the Year – Minaa Bo Po by E.L
  3. Hiplife/Hip Hop Artiste of the Year – E.L
  4. Producer of the Year – E. L
  5. Music video of the Year – Shelele by E.L
  6. Hip Hop Song of the Year – Sakodie (Hand to Mouth)
  7. Rapper of the Year – Sarkodie
  8. Record of the Year – Sarkodie ft. Pat Thomas – Bra
  9. Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year – Stonebwoy
  10. Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year – Go Higher by Stonebwoy
  11. Highlife Artiste of the Year – Bisa Kdei
  12. Highlife Song of the Year – Mansa by Bisa Kdei
  13. Most Popular Song of the Year – Mansa by Bisa Kdei
  14. Album of the Year – Bisa Kdei
  15. Best Group of the Year – VVIP
  16. Collaboration of the Year – VVIP ft Sena Dagadu
  17. SongWriter of the Year – Kofi Kinaata
  18. Best New Artiste of the Year – Kofi Kinaata
  19. Gospel Song of the Year – Nicholas Omane Acheampong (Aposor)
  20. Hiplife Song of the Year – Yewo Krom by Atom
  21. Gospel Artiste of the Year – SP Kofi Sarpong
  22. Best Female Vocalist of the Year – MzVee
  23. Best Male Vocalist of the Year – Pat Thomas
  24. African Artiste of the Year – Wizkid
  25. Peace Song Winner – New Generation Gospel Ministers
  26. Traditional Artiste of the Year – Tesa Music Group
  27. Lifetime Achievement Award – AB Crentsil
  28. Sound Engineer of the Year – Kaywa
  29. Music for Development Award – Gasmilla
  30. Instrumentalist of the Year – Justice Williams (Shikome)
Watch EL spit 'fire' in video 'King without a crown' below:

This post first appeared on ENTERTAIN9JA.COM, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

VGMAs 2016: Sarkodie, E.L, Bisa Kdei are the big winners of the night


Subscribe to

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription