Get Even More Visitors To Your Blog, Upgrade To A Business Listing >>

Jennifer Hudson, ‘Ted Lasso,’ Delroy Lindo, Marla Gibbs, ‘S.W.A.T. Honored with AAFCA TV Honors

AAFCA TV Honors to fete Delroy Lindo on August 27, 2023

*The 5th Annual AAFCA TV Honors distinguished achievement recipients were revealed by the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) today. They will be honored at an invitation-only, in-person luncheon at Casa Del Mar in Santa Monica, California, on August 27.

The “We See You” Award, given to performers who demonstrate versatility in their work, with a track record of consistent excellence, will go to Jennifer Hudson, host of Warner Bros. Unscripted Television’s “The Jennifer Hudson Show.”  The “Legacy Award,” presented to an artist or institution whose work inspired others to follow in their path, will be given to Delroy Lindo, currently starring in Onyx Collective’s “UnPrisoned” on Hulu.  The “Inclusion Award,” which honors programming that prioritizes representation of people from all walks of life, will be given to Apple TV+’s “Ted Lasso.”

The “Impact Award,” which recognizes TV programming with storylines and performances that have influence in the African American community, will be given to CBS’ “S.W.A.T.,” produced by Sony Pictures Television in association with CBS Studios.

The “Legend Award” presented to an individual who helped change the landscape of TV and Film will be given to five-time Emmy® nominee Marla Gibbs.  The AAFCA TV Honors, which were introduced in 2019, honor excellent achievements in television and streaming with a special focus on entertainment that represents the Black diaspora.  President and co-founder of the AAFCA, Gil Robertson, will preside over the event.

On July 19th AAFCA will announce winners in 14 categories, including best actor, best actress, best comedy series, best drama series, and more. Those winners will be recognized and celebrated alongside the honorees at the August 27th event.

AAFCA TV Honors to fete Marla Gibbs on August 27, 2023

The AAFCA TV Honors recognize winners in the following competitive categories:

  • BEST TV ACTING (Female)
  • BEST TV ACTING (Male)   
AAFCA TV Honors to fete Jennifer Hudson on August 27, 2023

A two-time GRAMMY® Award-winning recording artist, Academy Award-winning actress, and Tony and Emmy Award-winning producer, Jennifer Hudson is the youngest female EGOT winner in history. From humble beginnings, Hudson began singing in a small Chicago church where, week after week, she brought the congregation to its feet. From there, she’s gone on to worldwide acclaim.

Delroy Lindo recently starred in Spike Lee’s Da 5 Bloods (New York Film Critics Award-Best Actor) and The Harder They Fall for Netflix. He has had memorable film roles in The Cider House Rules; Heist; Ransom; Get Shorty and previously garnered acclaim for a trio of films with Spike: Clockers; Crooklyn and Malcolm X. Delroy will begin production on Blade for Marvel Studios this Summer.

Inspired by the television series and the feature film, S.W.A.T. stars Shemar Moore as a former Marine and locally born and raised S.W.A.T. sergeant, tasked to run a specialized tactical unit that is the last stop in law enforcement in Los Angeles. Torn between loyalty to where he was raised and allegiance to his brothers in blue, Daniel “Hondo” Harrelson strives to bridge the divide between his two worlds. Committed to the job and embracing personal change, Hondo prepares for fatherhood with his girlfriend, Nichelle, the operator of a South LA community center. The other members of Hondo’s elite S.W.A.T. unit include David “Deacon” Kay, an experienced S.W.A.T. officer and dedicated family man who always puts the team first; Dominique Luca, an expert driver who gets them in and out of high-risk situations; Victor Tan, who started in the LAPD Hollywood Division and uses his confidential informants in the community to help the team; and Jim Street, the team’s cocky newest member.

Established in 2003, AAFCA is the premier body of Black film critics in the world, actively reviewing film and television, with a particular emphasis on entertainment highlighting the Black experience in the US and throughout the rest of the African Diaspora. For more information on AAFCA and its programs visit

OTHER NEWS ON EURWEB: Foxy Brown is Back: Pam Grier Spills on Hot New Movie (‘Cinnamon’), Loves, Heart Break, Childhood Abuse & More! | EURExclusive/Watch

The post Jennifer Hudson, ‘Ted Lasso,’ Delroy Lindo, Marla Gibbs, ‘S.W.A.T. Honored with AAFCA TV Honors appeared first on EURweb.

This post first appeared on Black Entertainment News |, please read the originial post: here

Share the post

Jennifer Hudson, ‘Ted Lasso,’ Delroy Lindo, Marla Gibbs, ‘S.W.A.T. Honored with AAFCA TV Honors


Subscribe to Black Entertainment News |

Get updates delivered right to your inbox!

Thank you for your subscription